Hockey in Morell


The first hockey rink in Morell was built in 1914.

Morell’s hockey players were known as, “The Dreadnoughts.”

The following male players were particularly well known on the ice: William Geldert, Edward Rossiter, Lloyd Cox, Bruce MacEwan, Frank Jay, Ralph Dingwell, Joe Walsh, Temple Murphy, Aloyseous Murphy, Claude MacEwan, Eddie Anderson, Layton Coffin, Patrick Jay, Wendell Coffin, George Blaxland, Victor Sanderson, and Gerald MacAdam.

The following female players had played hockey in Morell’s first rink: Minnie Baker, Violet Murphy, Marie Murphy, Anne Murphy, Janie Coffin, Lydia Blaxland, May Eldershaw and Lettie Rossiter.


History Fact

Started in 1945, the first community library in Morell operated out of private homes for the first 11 years of its existence.

How Do I?